amuck-landowner

Fail2Ban versus CSF?

vpsnewb

Which one do you think is better? I have lot of experience with CSF on cpanel servers but not on a server without it. I've never used fail2ban before. Which one would be better for a vps that has no control panel?

Amitz

I would say that the two have different applications: One (CSF) is a firewall frontend with Intrusion Detection Service (LFD) and the other is a plain Intrusion Detection Service (fail2ban). If you do not need the firewall part of CSF, then I would go with fail2ban.

Last edited by a moderator:

wlanboy

Content Contributer
As Amitz said: Two different purposes.

I do prefer fail2ban because it is quite easy to write new regex statements to watch every logfile you want.

jarland

The ocean is digital
Base functionality for the average user, fail2ban and LFD will be no noticeable difference. Of course, CSF is a nice easy way to fine tune iptables for the average user and for that I highly recommend it.

Increhost

Verified Provider
For web hosting enviroments LFD is great, sometimes port scan gives a little trouble

with false positives, so you need to keep an eye on them.

CSF is very nice, and has evolved since it's creation, so in combination with

LFD they do a great job.

But... you have to keep track of the logs, if you use mod_security rules, you could block

forever everybody if a rule doesn't like a website (not just http block but ip blocking too).

Anyway, as people already told, they're different, but CSF+LFD is totally recommendable.

cheers!

Lee

Retired Staff
Verified Provider
Retired Staff
Which one do you think is better? I have lot of experience with CSF on cpanel servers but not on a server without it. I've never used fail2ban before. Which one would be better for a vps that has no control panel?