amuck-landowner

Proxmox

Mun

Never Forget
Is proxmox any good? Do you think it would be better then Vmware ESXI? Give me some feedback of the good bad and ugly please.

Mun

k0nsl

Bad Goy
A lot more lightweight than Vmware ESXI, in my opinion, and is very easy to work with.

I do not have great experience with Vmware ESXI, but I do use Proxmox on two servers (so far).

Wintereise

ESXi if you need to be complaint to a boatload pointless certifications.

In other drawbacks, it can't do NAT (without you setting up a openvswitch / opencontrail / vyatta / quagga routing vm), and it won't do any software raid. It's also closed-source software, if you happen to be an open-sores fanatic.

For commercial usage, you'll need a license from VMWare, and those are anything but cheap.

Proxmox will likely be easier to deal with since it's more intended to singular consumers from what it looks like.

dabtech

I don't use Proxmox for anything where I'm selling to consumers, so I have no experience with automation with any billng systems or anything, but I'm currently running a 4 node cluster over OpenVPN using Proxmox for my organizations servers, about 30 or so vm's. So far it's proven quite nice. I've never used ESXI for anything serious, so I don't have can't offer any direct comparisons.

I especially like the fact that Proxmox is Debian based, which is my distro of choice and the one I'm most familiar with. As k0nsl says, it's a nice lightweight virtual environment that so far has proven very nice for my needs.

I NAT a few vm's via a host bridge and iptables. Wintereise, were you referring to Proxmox itself setting up NAT automagically? I have no experience with ESXI, like I said, so I may be missing a feature you're referring to ESXI offers.

Wintereise