amuck-landowner

[Newbie] What are the vital things after setting up VPS?

hayvan

Well, I'm very new at setting and managing VPS. Basically I would like to use a 1 GB DO plan with CentOS 6.5 x 64 and cPanel. There will be one small scaled OpenCart based eCommerce site on the server. 

So, what are the absolute must things after installing cPanel? Please consider that I'm newbie and every single detail is invaluable for me. For example:

1 - Change root password

2 - Install firewall

3 - Create swap image if you have low memory

4 - Optimize MySQL (I don't know how, will read about it a lot)

MannDude

Just a dude
vpsBoard Founder
Hey there, welcome to vpsBoard.

Luckily for you, cPanel makes managing a server quite easy. Even when you encounter issues or have a question, the software is in use by so many that if the official cPanel documentation fails to cover it, then you can rest assured that the question has been asked (and answered) either on their community forum or elsewhere.

Installing cPanel is easy, it's just a few command lines you can copy/paste, the install is more or less automated and will take 30-60 minutes depending on the server. You'll have a few setup questions once you login to WHM for the first time, but more than likely the defaults will be fine for you. I'd still advise you read every prompt and just be aware of what you're clicking on.

Root password can be changed via WHM or from the command line itself by simply using the 'passwd' command when logged in as root. Pretty simple.

I'd recommend CSF for the firewall. It's also heavily used, heavily documented. Installation is also a breeze: http://configserver.com/free/csf/install.txt I also like CSF because you can run the tool to check your server hardening and can toggle on detailed explanations and follow the instructions.