What are the 3 types of DNS?


New Member
Well, there are mainly 3 DNS types let's discuss them one by one:

1. The Root Server​

It is positioned at the top of the root of the DNS hierarchy and does maintain data about each of the top-level zones. It is basically controlled by NIC and has been moved to a common domain for consistent naming process.

2. Primary Server​

There is only one primary server per domain, Inside which there is a system where all the changes have been made to the domain. They periodically synchronize secondary servers of the domain.

3. Secondary Server​

There are basically one or more secondary servers per domain. They obtain a copy of the domain information for all the domains they serve from the appropriate primary server or another secondary server for the domain

So, these were three types of DNS server.


The three main types of DNS are:
  1. Recursive DNS: This is the type of DNS that is used by client devices, such as computers and mobile devices, to look up domain names and find the corresponding IP addresses. When a client device makes a DNS request, recursive DNS servers perform the necessary lookups to find the IP address and return it to the client.
  2. Authoritative DNS: This is the type of DNS that is used by DNS servers to store and serve DNS records for a particular domain. Authoritative DNS servers are responsible for providing the IP addresses for domain names and ensuring that the information is up to date.
  3. Caching DNS: This is the type of DNS that is used by DNS servers to temporarily store DNS records that have been recently accessed. Caching DNS servers can speed up DNS lookups by returning the IP address from their cache rather than performing a new lookup. Caching DNS servers can be operated by internet service providers, network administrators, and other organizations to reduce the load on the root DNS servers.