amuck-landowner

Are there any good Linux guides?

memnarc

I'm totally new to Linux and thinking about switching from Windows 7 to Linux Mint.  I know nothing about LInux and I find it challenging to do things that I normally do at Windows like click on icons to install software.  Most of the time from the instructions I come across, you need to know specific commands to install things.  I'm not a power user and will not make heavy customizations.  I'm looking for a basic and thorough  guide to doing things on Linux. 

Thanks!

MannDude

Just a dude
vpsBoard Founder
Actually, yes. I need to update this but check out: 

Luckily with Mint, you'll have a package manager / software installer that you can use (Synaptic, I think). Otherwise, things can be installed via the command line with ease.

You can also Google such phrases as, "How to install Firefox on Linux", "Flashplayer Chrome Linux Mint" or "Skype for Linux", etc, etc and pretty much anything you'd be looking for will be available to you.

nunim

VPS Junkie
If you can tell us what you aim to accomplish with Linux we may be better able to assist you.  Asking for a Linux guide is a bit too general.

memnarc

Thanks for the tips, MannDude.

My goal is to be familiar with LInux as I am with Windows 7.  Just installing and removing programs.  Configuring the Iptables and enhancing the wifi security for cafe use.

24/7/365

Verified Provider
IPTables might be a bit of a challenge if you're new to Linux.

I would recommend getting familiar with the shell before learning IPTables.

I'm sure some people will suggest using a UI but honestly, a UI will only hinder your learning pace in Linux.

I would also suggest using a system you don't mind breaking for a week or two just so that you can feel uninhibited in experimenting for a while. If you're always worried you'll break something, you won't allow yourself to learn freely.

Imam86

Relax, dude.

Use Linux Mint like you used Windows 7.