amuck-landowner

Best way to keep sites loading fast while keeping them secure?

vpsmagic

Im kinda new to vps stuff but not super new. Ive had some for a while, I can install things and stuff but want to learn more. I dont want to use a control panel. What things should I install to keep things fast and secure for a website that needs php and MySQL?

I was thinking of using nginx, mysql, php, and installing CSF. I know to change the ssh port and ssh user too. What other things could I do to keep things fast and secure? I have a 2GB VPS so I have plenty of RAM to run things.

Thanks.

D. Strout

Resident IPv6 Proponent
In terms of speed, with a 2GB VPS you shouldn't need to worry too much about how fast your server processes things before sending them to the client. Unless you have a really slow processor or the host is very oversold, that should be no concern. To keep your websites fast, you have to make sure they're not loading too many images, use scripts effectively, cache efficiently, etc. There's a good article about all that here.

Security is a whole other question, not very much related to speed. Like you say, SSH on a different port is good, make it a high one. Here's some more SSH security methods:

• Don't SSH as root - create a user that can sudo and SSH in to that, disabling root SSH
  • Use key-based authentication, and disable password authentication
  • Set up fail2ban so if someone tries too many times to get in to SSH, they'll be blocked from the system
  • Another little thing that some might not think of: if you have two or more IP addresses on the system, set up SSH to only listen on one of them. Reduce your surface area, so to speak. If an attacker is just picking IPs at random, they're less likely to pick one that will allow them in to SSH.