amuck-landowner

Client-side SSL certificates

perennate

Verified Provider
gist: https://gist.github.com/uakfdotb/389463820c7f6808f851

note: this may be a bit rough, I wrote it in 20 min

Hi all,

This is a tutorial for modifying your web application (we'll use PHP in particular) to support client-side SSL certificates, based on my own experience with doing it. I'm still learning, so do let me know if I've done anything that seems insecure or otherwise unwise.

I'm posting here since I don't know anywhere else to post it :)

First I'd like to mention these two web pages for offering a good overview.

These have lots of information, but here I will assume a model where you want to run your own self-signed certificate authority on the web server, while not requiring users to install your CA. This means that the web application must allow users to upload certificate signing request, and return signed certificates to them after validation.

So the steps are:

• Client logs in normally and uploads CSR
  • Server signs the CSR and sends certificate back to client
  • Client takes certificate and key and imports into web browser
  • Client then authenticates using certificate later on and server recognizes and accepts it
Set up the CA

The first step is easy. Set up your CA. I enter 3650 days below so that you don't need to update your CA too often.

cd /etc/webssl/
openssl genrsa -des3 -out ca.key 4096
openssl req -new -x509 -days 3650 -key ca.key -out ca.crt
We want to trust our own CA. On Ubuntu:

mkdir -p /usr/share/ca-certificates/extra
cp ca.crt /usr/share/ca-certificates/extra/ca.crt
dpkg-reconfigure ca-certificates
Configure your web server