amuck-landowner

How do providers manage their hardware?

raindog308

vpsBoard Premium Member
Some things I've always wondered about with providers and how they run their operations.

My background is big IT - my employers have typically owned their own DCs, have local sysadmins in each site, big support contracts, etc.  So I've done a lot of datacenter-oriented work, just not with public DCs.  Obviously, no one who advertises here runs his own datacenter.

So let's say you want to stand up a VPS hosting company in, say, Kansas City (just picked that at random).  You buy a server, ship it to your house, configure it how you like, and then ship it off to the DC in KC where you rent colo.

Let's assume 

- we're using rack-grade hardware here, not Best Buy gear

- the DC is remote, not something the provider can just drive over to

So my questions:

(1) A while later, let's say a hard drive goes bad.  We're using RAID of some flavor so the node stays online.  Do providers typically keep onboard RAID spares (i.e., hot spare in the array), and then replace the hard drive?

(2) Where does the replacement drive come from?  The DC staff charge some "remote hands" fee to do the work, but do providers typically keep spare hard drives in some sort of holding area there to hot-swap it out?  Or do they ship one?

(3) I suppose if you hot-spare or site-replace the hard drive, the user only suffers while the array rebuilds.  If you don't have a hot spare or spare on site, users have to wait while you ship a drive and they could run with a degraded array/poor performance/at risk for some time.