amuck-landowner

wScript: Automatic scripted KVM deployment with images (with Zvol/LVM support and IP assignment) (De

William

pr0
Verified Provider
I share some internal scripts of mine... look out for more threads. Sorry for formating if it makes not much sense, i'm not good at writing tutorials and can hardly concentrate currently at anything.

I was not happy with virt-install alone but did not want a full panel, so i wrote the middle way myself. My bash is good but not the best and i did not really put too much work into these scripts when they were working fully - Don't touch working scripts. No guarantees/liability for anything, not my problem.

For links william.si is interchangeable with william.su (SSL cert does not match then though) - No SSL check is done because it seems to fail for my certs, no idea why.

>>>Copyright William Weber/The Liechtenstein Limited 2014 / reshare of scripts only allowed without removing nameswhere in the script.
If you are not happy with this please don't use/modify them and leave this thread :)

Requirements are:
* A Webserver, prefferably internal (i use br1 as int and thus have it internal and no auth) or with auth (requires script edit)
* A KVM node based on Debian, Ubuntu or a derivate of them (not guaranteed to work outside of Debian 7, which i use)
* Libvirt with virt-install
* A free (permanent or NAT) IPv4 for the setup process
* Basic knowledge of bash
* Time to install one KVM of each OS you want as template

Pro:
* Contains also ISO install function to mount a local ISO and start a normal, non copied install with VNC access, loads automatically correct ENV based on ISO and Windows VirtIO drivers if Windows.
* It works. This never fails. Image copy does. not. fail. Unlike netinstall or preseed.
* It's fast, no need to install the OS - One reboot is enough. Average time for a Debian 7 install on my SSDs is 2min until it runs fully with new IP/hostname.